About the IRB

Nevada State College has one IRB responsible for conducting initial and continuing reviews, and for providing oversight for all research activities involving human subjects performed on campus or at any location where research is performed under the auspices of NSC.

The IRB operates according to Title 45 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) part 46, The Belmont Report, in addition to Federal and State guidelines. The IRB's process for protecting human research subjects reflects federal regulations developed in response to such cases as the Public Health Service syphilis study and the U.S. government radiation experiments. The Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP) oversees the operation of the IRB.

2016-2017 Committee Members

Paul Buck, IRB Administrator
School of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Paul.Buck@nsc.edu
Richard Yao, IRB Chair
Dean of Students
Richard.Yao@nsc.edu
Sarah Bryans-Bongey
School of Education
Sarah.Bryans-Bongey@nsc.edu
Stephanie Durfor
School of Nursing
Stephanie.Durfor@nsc.edu
Susan Growe
School of Nursing
Susan.Growe@nsc.edu
Roberta Kaufmann
School of Education
Roberta.Kaufmann@nsc.edu
Tiffany LeMaistre
Library Services
Tiffany.LeMaistre@nsc.edu
Elizabeth Meyerwitz
School of Education
Elizabeth.Meyerwitz@nsc.edu
Laura Naumann
School of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Laura.Naumann@nsc.edu
Lori Olafson
UNLV Office of Research Integrity
Lori.Olafson@unlv.edu
Joanna Shearer
School of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Joanna.Shearer@nsc.edu

 

©